Preauthorization for Opioid Use Disorder Prescriptions Prohibited

On May 25, 2017, Gov. Larry Hogan signed H.B. 887 into law. The new law applies to insurers who provide coverage for substance use disorders or prescription drugs. Such insurers are prohibited from applying a preauthorization requirement for a prescription drug used for treatment of an opioid use disorder and that contains methadone, buprenorphine or naltrexone. The law was to be effective for policies issued or renewed on or after Jan. 1, 2018, however, it was enacted as an emergency measure for the immediate preservation of the public health or safety. Therefore, it takes effect for policies issued or renewed on or after the enactment date of May 25, 2017.

H.B. 887 »