May 3, 2016

On March 9, 2016, Gov. Shumlin signed H 187 into law, which requires employers to provide paid sick leave to employees. Effective Jan. 1, 2017, employees working at least 18 hours per week and employed for at least 20 weeks will be eligible to accrue at least one hour of earned sick leave for every 52 hours worked. The maximum accrual is 24 hours in a 12 month period, which will increase to 40 hours Jan. 1, 2019. Certain employees who are employed by the state, school districts and health care facilities are not eligible; nor are certain business owners.

An employer may impose a waiting period of up to one year during which the employee would accrue earned sick leave, but would not be able to take advantage of it.

An employee may use earned sick time for absences related to the employee’s illness or injury or to care for an ill or injured family member.

Unused balances shall roll over to the next year.

H 187 »