December 10, 2019
On October 4, 2019, Labor Commissioner Chambers issued Advisory Opinion 2019-02 concerning that state’s new paid leave law (SB 312), effective January 1, 2020. SB 312 requires Nevada employers with 50 or more employees in the state to provide employees with at least 0.01923 hours of paid leave for each hour worked in a benefit year, and employees can use that leave for any reason. The advisory opinion seeks to provide guidance on the new law.
The opinion points out that SB 312 does not apply to employers during the first two years of operation or to employers who already have leave policies that exceed the 0.01923 hours paid leave per hour of work. Temporary, seasonal, or on-call employees (those employees called out to work on an hourly or daily basis based upon employer need) do not count towards the 50 employee threshold. Employers can “frontload” an employee’s total accrual on the first day of the benefit year, but employers are not required to pay out any unused leave upon the employee’s termination.
Employers with Nevada employees should consult this advisory opinion for these and other clarifications of SB 312 while updating their leave policies.
Advisory Opinion 2019-02 »