Local Paid Leave Laws Still in Effect

Building upon our previous Compliance Corner articles, we wanted to remind employers that New Jersey cities, towns and counties may continue to enforce paid sick leave requirements upon private employers until Oct. 29, 2018, when the New Jersey Paid Sick Leave law goes into effect. The following counties have their own paid leave laws:

  • Bloomfield
  • East Orange
  • Elizabeth
  • Irvington
  • Jersey City
  • Monclair
  • Morristown
  • New Brunswick
  • Newark
  • Passaic
  • Paterson
  • Plainfield
  • Trenton

Employers should be mindful of the city requirements and continue to comply until the state’s paid sick and safe leave law becomes effective Oct. 29, 2018. Once in effect, the New Jersey Earned Sick Leave law preempts any such ordinance, resolution, law, rule or regulation adopted by a city, town or county.

New Jersey Earned Sick Leave »